Browse By

Travelling to Kyushu

When tourists think of holidaying in Japan, they usually think of Honshu (Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto Nagoya), and Hokkaido. Few people would have heard of Kyushu, let alone consider Kyushu. In recent times, I have heard so much of Kyushu being an “Undiscovered Gem”. I was so thankful that I could stay in Kyushu (Saga Prefecture) for about 4 weeks as I did my practical training program. In this post I would like to tell you about travelling to Kyushu. Check it out!

Travelling to Kyushu

Before that, I want to tell you some information about Kyushu. Kyushu (九州, Kyūshū, literally “nine provinces”) is Japan’s third largest island, located southwest of the main island Honshu. Kyushu includes seven prefectures: Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Oita, Kumamoto, Miyazaki and Kagoshima. Kyushu is located in south part of Japan. That’s why the climate is very mild and it is very popular destination in all season. Some travellers may arrive/depart at Fukuoka airport or other airports and travel only in Kyushu. You can find plenty of excellent onsens (hot springs) and fresh seafood everywhere. Kyushu is also a relatively inexpensive place, and that contributes to its attractiveness among tourists.

Travelling to Kyushuu is such a great experience for me. And in some articles later, I would like to tell you about my story travelling to Kyushuu. Check it out!

kyushu destination map

Seven prefectures in Kyushu Japan: Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Oita, Miyazaki, Kagoshima.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

You have to agree to the comment policy.